2008 Winners

Untitled 13, 2006, from the series Angry Black Snake by Michael Corridore

Hailing from all over the United States and around the world, over one thousand artists submitted their work to the second annual Aperture Portfolio Prize competition. Of this incredible response, the judges awarded the top prize to Australian photographer Michael Corridore for his project Angry Black Snake. This year, five runners-up were selected: Saudi Arabia’s Jowhara AlSaud; Colin Blakely of Ann Arbor, Michigan; Columbia, Missouri’s Joe Johnson; Los Angeles–based Peruvian artist Hector Mata; and Elizabeth Pedinotti of San Francisco. Aperture is delighted to showcase each artist’s portfolio here.

Aperture Portfolio Prize Winner: Michael Corridore
Runner-up: Jowhara AlSaud
Runner-up: Colin Blakely
Runner-up: Joe Johnson
Runner-up: Hector Mata
Runner-up: Elizabeth Pedinotti

The following staff took part in judging the 2008 competition:
Lesley A. Martin, Publisher, Books
Diana Edkins, Director of Exhibitions & the Paul Strand Archive
Susan Ciccotti, Senior Text Editor
Joanna Lehan, Associate Editor
Kellie McLaughlin, Director, Limited-Edition Photographs
Nima Etemadi, Editorial Assistant
Hilary Ferris-White, Work Scholar
Alex Freedman, Work Scholar
Jenny Goldberg, Work Scholar
Gem Salsberg, Work Scholar

Sign up for Aperture's weekly newsletter: