2009 Winners

Aperture Portfolio Prize 2009

Untitled, 2009, from the series Pastoral by Alexander Gronsky

This year’s Aperture Portfolio Prize drew an incredibly diverse pool of applicants. Of the nearly eight hundred submissions, the judges awarded the top prize to Estonia’s Alexander Gronsky. Additionally, five runners-up were selected: New York–based Keliy Anderson-Staley, Alejandro Cartagena of Mexico, Brooklynite Maureen Drennan, San Francisco–based Jason Hanasik, and Mark Lyon of Marlboro, New York. Aperture is pleased to present their portfolios here.

Aperture Portfolio Prize Winner: Alexander Gronsky
Runner-up: Keliy Anderson-Staley
Runner-up: Alejandro Cartagena
Runner-up: Maureen Drennan
Runner-up: Jason Hanasik
Runner-up: Mark Lyon

The following staff took part in judging the 2009 competition:
Lesley A. Martin, Publisher, Books
Denise Wolff, Editor
Susan Ciccotti, Senior Text Editor
Kellie McLaughlin, Director, Limited-Edition Photographs
Nima Etemadi, Assistant Editor
Jenny Goldberg, Assistant to the Publisher
Julia Barber, Work Scholar
Kira Grennan, Work Scholar
Christopher Kissock, Work Scholar

Sign up for Aperture's weekly newsletter: