2013 Winners


Bryan Schutmaat, Ralph, 2011.

This year, Aperture’s editorial and limited-edition print staff—twelve staff members and fourteen work scholars in all—reviewed close to one thousand portfolio-prize entries. Our challenge was to select one top prize and five honorable mentions from this overwhelming response. The judges awarded the top prize to Bryan Schutmaat. Additionally, five runners-up were selected: Clare Carter, Corey Escoto, Akihiko Miyoshi, Pacifico Silano, and Eva Stenram.

Aperture is pleased to present their portfolios here.

2013 Aperture Portfolio Prize Winner: Bryan Schutmaat
Runner-up: Clare Carter
Runner-up: Corey Escoto

Runner-up: Akihiko Miyoshi

Runner-up: Pacifico Silano
Runner-up: Eva Stenram

The following staff took part in judging the 2013 competition:

Lesley A. Martin, Publisher, Books
Denise Wolff, Senior Editor, Books
Amelia Lang, Managing Editor, Books
Samantha Marlow, Editorial Assistant, Books
Michael Famighetti, Editor, Aperture magazine
Paula Kupfer, Assistant Editor, Aperture magazine
Brian Sholis, Associate Editor
Emily Lessard, Design Director
Kellie McLaughlin, Director of Sales and Marketing
Annette Booth, Exhibitions Manager
Paul Colarusso, Sales and Rights Manager
Matthew Harvey, Production Manager


Hillary Beson, Work-Scholar
Martina Caruso, Work-Scholar
Luke Chase, Work-Scholar
Sarah Dansberger, Work-Scholar
Schuyler Duffy, Work-Scholar and Portfolio Prize Coordinator
Layza Garcia, Work-Scholar
Alyson Goldman, Work-Scholar
Alison Powell Karasyk, Work-Scholar
Diana Panora, Work-Scholar
Lauren Sloan, Work-Scholar
Laure Solal, Work-Scholar
Elena Tarchi, Work-Scholar
Robyn Taylor, Work-Scholar
Elli Trier, Work-Scholar

Sign up for Aperture's weekly newsletter: