back to blog

Announcing the 2020 Aperture Portfolio Prize Shortlist

Aperture’s support of emerging photographers and artists is an important part of our mission—especially in this current moment. This year, Aperture’s editors reviewed over 900 submissions to our annual Portfolio Prize competition. We are thrilled to announce the finalists for the 2020 Aperture Portfolio Prize.

Dannielle Bowman
Jessica Chou
Daniel Jack Lyons
Gloria Oyarzabal
Lindley Warren Mickunas

We are delighted to welcome these five finalists to our ranks of illustrious past selected artists, joining such artists as Mark McKnight, Ka-Man Tse, Jack Latham, Zora J Murff, Fabiola Cedillo, Natalie Krick, Eli Durst, Drew Nikonowicz, LaToya Ruby Frazier, Sarah Palmer, Bryan Schutmaat, and many others.

Our challenge now is to select one winner from this impressive group of finalists. The winning artist, to be announced on Friday, April 17, will be published in Aperture magazine, receive a $3,000 cash prize, and present an exhibition in New York. Finalists’ portfolios and statements will be featured on Aperture Online.

Dannielle Bowman, Faces, 2019, from the series What Had Happened

Jessica Chou, Daydream, 2018, from the series Suburban Chinatown

Daniel Jack Lyons, Milton, 2019, from the series Amazônica

Gloria Oyarzabal, Sorority, 2019, from the series Woman Go No’Gree

Lindley Warren Mickunas, Milk, 2020, from the series Maternal Sheet

Subscribe to our newsletter and never miss our news announcements, publications, latest editorial content, and more.

Sign up for Aperture's weekly newsletter: