back to blog
photobook awards

Announcing the 2017 PhotoBook Awards Shortlist Jury


We are happy to announce the jury of the 2017 Paris Photo—Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Awards Shortlist:

Kathy Ryan is the longtime director of photography at the New York Times Magazine. During her tenure, the Magazine has been recognized with numerous photography awards, including National Magazine Awards in both 2011 and 2012. In 2012, Ryan received the Royal Photographic Society’s annual award for Outstanding Service to Photography. Her own photographic work has been published in Office Romance (Aperture, 2014); she also edited The New York Times Magazine Photographs (Aperture, 2011).

Joel Smith is the Richard L. Menschel Curator of Photography at the Morgan Library & Museum in New York. Prior to his appointment to the Morgan Library & Museum, he was the Peter C. Bunnell Curator of Photography at Princeton. His publications include Peter Hujar: Speed of Life (Aperture, 2017) and The Life and Death of Buildings: On Photography and Time (2011).

Gregory Halpern’s ZZYZX won the Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation PhotoBook of the Year Award in 2016. Halpern was born in Buffalo, New York, and holds a BA from Harvard University and an MFA from California College of the Arts. He has published a number of books, including A (2011), Omaha Sketchbook (2009), and East of the Sun, West of the Moon (2014), a collaboration with Ahndraya Parlato. He is also the editor, with Jason Fulford, of The Photographer’s Playbook (Aperture, 2014). In 2014, he was the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship. He currently teaches photography at the Rochester Institute of Technology.

Christoph Wiesner is the artistic director of Paris Photo. Wiesner previously worked at Schipper & Krome and Esther Schipper in Berlin, before returning to Paris to join Yvon Lambert Gallery as senior director. Alongside his core work, Wiesner is a curator and cofounder of an experimental space for young creators in Berlin.

Lesley A. Martin is cofounder of the PhotoBook Awards. She is the creative director of Aperture Foundation and publisher of The PhotoBook Review. She is also a visiting critic at Yale University, where she teaches a graduate class on the photobook.

Enter the PhotoBook Awards here! Books must arrive at Aperture by September 15, 2017.

Sign up for Aperture's weekly newsletter: