2018 Paris Photo – Aperture Photobook Awards
June 11 - June 16, 2019


Paris Photo and Aperture Foundation are pleased to present the shortlist of the 2018 edition of the Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Awards, celebrating the photobook’s contribution to the evolving narrative of photography. “I think both the shortlist selection and the final award winners offer a window on the world at large and on the world of photography and photographic books today. The choices made in selecting the winners reflect the chaotic and changing world in which we are living,” said final juror Hervé Digne.

This year’s shortlist selection was made by Lucy Gallun, associate curator in the Department of Photography at the Museum of Modern Art; Kristen Lubben, executive director of the Magnum Foundation; Lesley A. Martin, creative director of Aperture Foundation and publisher of The PhotoBook Review; Yasufumi Nakamori, PhD, incoming senior curator of international art (photography) at Tate Modern, London; and Christoph Wiesner, artistic director of Paris Photo.

A final jury at Paris Photo selected this year’s winners. The jury included: Federica Chiocchetti, curator and founder of the Photocaptionist; Hervé Digne, president of Manifesto and the Odeon Circle; Kevin Moore, curator; Azu Nwagbogu, director of African Artists’ Foundation (AAF) and LagosPhoto Festival; and Batia Suter, artist.

Click here to view the 2018 PhotoBook Awards shortlist.


Miami PhotoFest: February 27 – March 3, 2019

 Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival, Toronto: May 2019

Photo Basel, Switzerland:  June 2019