The thirty outstanding photobooks shortlisted for the Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Awards 2012 were announced in September, 2012, with the release of The PhotoBook Review 003, Aperture’s biannual publication dedicated to the consideration of the photobook. The shortlist is also available at Paris Photo’s web site at All thirty titles were exhibited at Paris Photo on November 15-18, 2012, and are now on view at Aperture Gallery in New York.

In November 2011, Paris Photo and Aperture Foundation joined forces for The Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Awards, celebrating the book’s contribution to the evolving narrative of photography. This year, the Awards focused on two major categories: First PhotoBook and PhotoBook of the Year. City Diary (Volumes 1-3) by Anders Petersen (Steidl, 2012) was selected as the PhotoBook of the Year, and Concresco by David Galjaard (Self-published, 2012) is the winner of $10,000 in the First PhotoBook category. The jury also recognized C.E.N.S.U.R.A. by Julián Barón (Editorial RM, 2012) as Honorable Mention for the First PhotoBook category.

The ten shortlisted titles for PhotoBook of the Year are:

History Repeating
Photographer: Ori Gersht
Publisher: MFA Publications, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston

Retinal Shift
Photographer: Mikhael Subotzky
Publisher: Steidl

Rachael, Monique
Photographer: Sophie Calle
Publisher: Xavier Barral

(based on a true story)
Photographer: David Alan Harvey
Publisher: Burn Books

City Diary
Photographer: Anders Petersen
Publisher: Steidl

Book of Books
Photographer: Stephen Shore
Publisher: Phaidon

Two Thousand Light Years From Home
Photographer: Pietro Mattioli
Publisher: Kodoji Press

Table of Power 2
Photographer: Jacqueline Hassink
Publisher: Hatje Cantz

Photographer: Lise Sarfati
Publisher: Twin Palms

A Head with Wings
Photographer: Anouk Kruithof
Publisher: Little Brown Mushroom

The twenty shortlisted titles for First PhotoBook are:

Uncle Charlie
Photographer: Marc Asnin
Publisher: Contrasto

Photographer: Cristina De Middel
Publisher: Cristina De Middel

Photographer: David Galjaard
Text: Slavenka Drakcelic and Jaap Scholten
Publisher: David Galjaard

Summer Weather
Photographer: Michael Jang
Publisher: Owl and Tiger

Photographer: N&D
Publisher: Random Number 11

Jeddah Diary
Photographer: Olivia Arthur
Publisher: Fishbar

Metsästä, From the Woods
Photographer: Anne Golaz
Publisher: Kehrer Verlag

Sans titre, M. Bertillon
Photographer: Stéphanie Solinas
Publisher: RVB Books

Cette Montagne, C’est Moi
Photographer: Witho Worms
Publisher: Fw:

The Wrong Side: Living on the Mexican Border
Photographer: Jérôme Sessini
Publisher: Contrasto

Hired Hand
Photographers: Stuart Bailes, Bea Fremderman, Ingo Mittelstaedt, Athena Torri
Publisher: Vandret Publications

Photographer: Kenji Hirasawa
Publisher: Bemojake

Photographer: Chad States
Publisher: powerHouse Books

Photographer: Julián Barón
Publisher: Editorial RM

Singular Beauty
Photographer: Cara Phillips
Publisher: Fw:

Dive Dark, Dream Slow
Photographer: Melissa Catanese
Publisher: The Ice Plant

A Natural Order
Photographer: Lucas Foglia
Publisher: Nazraeli Press

Photographer: Donald Weber
Publisher: Schilt

7 Rooms
Photographer: Rafal Milach
Publisher: Kehrer Verlag, Treemedia

Photographer: Nina Poppe
Publisher: Kehrer Verlag

The initial selection was made by Phillip Block, Deputy Director of Programs and Director of Education at the International Center of Photography; Chris Boot, Executive Director of Aperture Foundation; Julien Frydman, Director of Paris Photo; Lesley A. Martin, Publisher at Aperture Foundation; and James Wellford, senior international photo editor at Newsweek magazine. The selected photobooks will be exhibited at Paris Photo at the Grand Palais and at Aperture Gallery in New York; and will tour to other venues, to be determined.

A final jury in Paris, including Els Barents, Director of the Huis Marseille Museum for Photography; Roxana Marcoci, Curator of Photography at the Museum of Modern Art, New York and Curator of the Paris Photo 2012 Platform; Edward Robinson, Associate Curator of Photography at Los Angeles County Museum of Art; Thomas Seelig, Curator of the FotomuseumWinterthur; and Timothy Prus, Curator of AMC Books, selected the winners for both prizes, which were revealed at the opening of Paris Photo on November 15, 2012.

You may also like