In Aperture Gallery’s Board Room

Initiated in November 2011 by Aperture Foundation and Paris Photo, the Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Awards celebrate the photobook’s contribution to the evolving narrative of photography, with prizes in three categories. The initial short-list selection was made by Julien Frydman, director of Paris Photo; Todd Hido, photographer and photobook maker; Lesley A. Martin, publisher of the Aperture Foundation book program and of The PhotoBook Review; Mutsuko Ota, editorial director ofIMA magazine; and Anne Wilkes Tucker, photography curator at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. The short list was first announced by Hido at NY Art Book Fair on September 26, 2014.

All the short-listed books are profiled in issue 007 of The PhotoBook Review, Aperture Foundation’s biannual publication dedicated to the consideration of the photobook. The PhotoBook Review is available for free at Aperture Gallery and Bookstore and is mailed to all Aperture magazine subscribers.

The short-list exhibition also includes the winning books: Hidden Islam by Nicoló Degiorgis is the winner of $10,000 in the First PhotoBook category. The selection for this year’s new category, Photography Catalogue of the Year, is Christopher Williams’s separately published, matched set of catalogues Christopher Williams: The Production Line of Happiness and Christopher Williams: Printed in Germany, while Imaginary Club by Oliver Sieber is the winner of PhotoBook of the Year. A special mention in that category goes to Vytautas V. Stanionis’s Photographs for Documents.

A jury in Paris selected this year’s winners: Rahaab Allana, curator at the Alkazi Foundation for the Arts; Quentin Bajac, Joel and Anne Ehrenkranz Chief Curator at the Museum of Modern Art; Cléo Charuet, designer and director; Sebastian Hau, curator; and Pierre Hourquet, gallerist, publisher, and designer.

The short listed titles for PhotoBook of the Year are:

The Big Book
Photographer: W. Eugene Smith
Publisher: University of Texas Press

Rich and Poor
Photographer: Jim Goldberg
Publisher: Steidl

Disco Night Sept. 11
Photographer: Peter van Agtmael
Publisher: Red Hook Editions

Photographer: Daido Moriyama
Publisher: SUPER LABO

Photographs for Documents
Photographer: Vytautas V. Stanionis
Publisher: Kaunas Photography Gallery

Ponte City
Photographers: Mikhael Subotzky and Patrick Waterhouse
Publisher: Steidl

Photographer: Daisuke Yokota
Publisher: Newfave

Imaginary Club
Photographer: Oliver Sieber
Publisher: Editions GwinZegal/BöhmKobayashi

The Winners
Photographer: Rafal Milach
Publisher: GOST

The Arrangement
Photographer: Ruth van Beek
Publisher: RVB Books

War Porn
Photographer: Christoph Bangert
Publisher: Kehrer Verlag

Photographer: Davide Monteleone
Publisher: Kehrer Verlag

The short listed titles for First Photobook are:

everything will be ok
Photographer: Alberto Lizaralde
Publisher: Self-published

Synonym Study
Photographer: Nico Krijno
Publisher: Self-published

The Meteorite Hunter
Photographer: Alexandra Lethbridge
Publisher: Self-published

Father Figure: Exploring Alternative Notions of Black Fatherhood
Photographer: Zun Lee
Publisher: Ceiba

Photographer: Andrea Botto
Publisher: Danilo Montanari

Miklós Klaus Rózsa
Photographers: Christof Nüssli and Christoph Oeschger
Publisher: Cpress/Spectorbooks

ED IT: The Substantial System for Photographic Archive Maintenance
Authors: Ola Lanko, Brigiet van den Berg, Nikki Brörmann, Simone Engelen, Sterre Sprengers
Publisher: Self-published

Back to the Future
Photographer: Irina Werning
Publisher: Self-published

Photographer: Yann Haeberlin
Publisher: Self-published

Photographers: Vladyslav Krasnoshchok and Sergiy Lebedynskyy
Publisher: Riot Books

Silent Histories
Photographer: Kazuma Obara
Publisher: Self-published

Hidden Islam
Photographer: Nicoló Degiorgis
Publisher: Rorhof

Photographer: Awoiska van der Molen
Publisher: Fw: Books

The American Series
Photographer: Oskar Schmidt
Publisher: Distanz

Fractal State of Being
Photographer: Sara Skorgan Teigen
Publisher: Journal

Red String
Photographer: Yoshikatsu Fujii
Publisher: Self-published

Photographer: Alma Cecilia Suarez
Publisher: Self-published

Photographer: Yuji Hamada
Publisher: Lemon Books

The Epilogue
Photographer: Laia Abril
Publisher: Dewi Lewis Publishing

Photographer: Philippe Fragnière
Publisher: Kodoji Press

The short listed titles for Photography Catalogue of the Year are:

Photobooks: Spain 1905–1977
Photographers: Multiple
Publisher: Editorial RM

Christopher Williams: Printed in Germany
Photographer: Christopher Williams
Publisher: Walther König/David Zwirner

Christopher Williams: The Production Line of Happiness
Photographer: Christopher Williams
Publisher: Art Institute of Chicago

Dark Knees
Photographer: Mark Cohen
Publisher: Le Bal/Éditions Xavier Barral

Tsunami, Photographs, and Then: Lost and Found Project
Photographer: Munemasa Takahashi
Publisher: AKAAKA

The Catalogue Box
Photographers: Multiple
Publisher: Verlag Kettler/The PhotoBook Museum

The Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Awards are made possible with the support of amana.

You may also like

Summer Party Celebrating “The Design Issue”

The Summer Party celebrated Aperture's new look and paid tribute to the magazine's long standing design history.

11 Photobooks that Reimagine Queer History and Visibility

From Zanele Muholi’s radical statements of identity to the photographers envisioning trans activism and community, here are must-read titles that celebrate queer voices and stories.

IMA Concept Store, Tokyo

December 5, 2014–January 11, 2015

Photobook Melbourne, Australia

February 12–22, 2015