The Short List

(left) First PhotoBook winner, KARMA by Óscar Monzón; (right) PhotoBook of the Year winner A01 [COD.] — A27 [S | COD.23] by Rosângela Rennó

Opening event: Saturday, December 14, 12:30–6:00 p.m. during the Aperture Holiday Book Bazaar

Initiated in November 2011 by Aperture Foundation and Paris Photo, the Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Awards celebrate the photobook’s contribution to the evolving narrative of photography, with prizes in two categories: First PhotoBook and PhotoBook of the Year. A01 [COD.] — A27 [S | COD.23] by Rosângela Rennó (self-published) is the 2013 PhotoBook of the Year, and KARMA by Óscar Monzón (RVB Books/Dalpine) is the winner in the First PhotoBook category. Special jury recognition was given to War/Photography: Images of Armed Conflict and Its Aftermath, edited by Anne Wilkes Tucker and Will Michels with Natalie Zelt (Museum of Fine Arts, Houston/Yale University Press). In 2012, First PhotoBook was awarded to Concresco by David Galjaard (self-published). PhotoBook of the Year went to City Diary by Anders Petersen (Steidl).

The jury for this year’s short list selection included: Vince Aletti, curator, critic, author, and photography-exhibition reviewer for the New Yorker; Julien Frydman, director of Paris Photo; Lesley A. Martin, publisher of the Aperture book program and of The PhotoBook Review; Mutsuko Ota, editorial director of IMA magazine; and Barbara Tannenbaum, curator of photography at the Cleveland Museum of Art.

A second jury in Paris selected the winners. This jury included Gerry Badger, photographer, architect, and critic; Dr. Tobia Bezzola, director of Museum Folkwang (Germany), Dr. Harald Falckenberg, founder of Sammlung Falckenberg/Deichtorhallen Hamburg (Germany); Thyago Nogueira, contemporary photography coordinator, Instituto Moreira Salles (Brazil), and editor of ZUM magazine; and Maia-Mari Sutnik, photography and special projects curator of Art Gallery of Ontario (Canada).

The short list was exhibited during Paris Photo at the Grand Palais, Paris, from November 14–17. All thirty books are profiled in issue 005 of The PhotoBook Review, Aperture’s biannual publication dedicated to the consideration of the photobook.

The ten short-listed titles for PhotoBook of the Year are:

Holy Bible
Photographers: Adam Broomberg and Oliver Chanarin
Publisher: MACK, London / Archive of Modern Conflict, London

New York Arbor
Photographer: Mitch Epstein
Publisher: Steidl, Göttingen, Germany

Iris Garden
Photographer: William Gedney
Text: John Cage
Publisher: Little Brown Mushroom, Minneapolis

The Black Photo Album / Look at Me: 1890–1950
Photographer: Santu Mofokeng
Publisher: Steidl / The Walther Collection, Göttingen / New York

Surrendered Myself to the Chair of Life
Photographer: Jin Ohashi
Text: Nobuyoshi Araki
Publisher: AKAAKA, Tokyo

A01 [COD.] — A27 [S | COD.23]
Photographer: Rosângela Rennó
Publisher: RR Edições, Rio de Janeiro

Rasen Kaigan
Photographer: Lieko Shiga
Publisher: AKAAKA, Tokyo

Birds of the West Indies
Photographer: Taryn Simon
Publisher: Hatje Cantz, Ostfildern, Germany

Photographer: Carlos Spottorno
Publisher: Phree and Editorial RM, Madrid

War/Photography: Images of Armed Conflict and Its Aftermath
Photographers: Various
Authors: Anne Wilkes Tucker and Will Michels, with Natalie Zelt
Publisher: Museum of Fine Arts Houston / Yale University Press, New Haven

The twenty short-listed titles for First PhotoBook are:

World of Details
Photographer: Viktoria Binschtok
Publisher: Distanz, Berlin

A Period of Juvenile Prosperity
Photographer: Mike Brodie
Publisher: Twin Palms Publishers, Santa Fe

Photographer: Delphine Burtin
Publisher: Self-published

Speaking of Scars
Photographer: Teresa Eng
Publisher: If / Then Books, London

Photographer: Craig Fineman
Publisher: Stussy / Dashwood Books, New York

The Canaries
Photographer: Thilde Jensen
Publisher: LENA Publications, Truxton, New York

Nine Nameless Mountains
Photographer: Maanantai Collective
Publisher: Kehrer Verlag, Heidelberg, Germany

Top Secret: Images from the Stasi Archives
Photographer: Simon Menner
Publisher: Hatje Cantz, Ostfildern, Germany

Photographer: Óscar Monzón
Publisher: Dalpine, Madrid / RVB Books, Paris

Photographer: Adam Pańczuk
Publisher: Self-published

The Fourth Wall
Photographer: Max Pinckers
Publisher: Self-published

History of the Visit
Photographer: Daniel Reuter
Publisher: Self-published

Photographer: Thomas Sauvin
Publisher: Archive of Modern Conflict, London

Beautiful Pig
Photographer: Ben Schonberger
Publisher: Self-published

Grays the Mountain Sends
Photographer: Bryan Schutmaat
Publisher: Silas Finch Foundation, New York

Down These Mean Streets
Photographer: Will Steacy
Publisher: b. frank books, Zürich

Return to Sender
Photographer: Sipke Visser
Publisher: Self-published

Ad Infinitum
Photographer: Kris Vervaeke
Publisher: Self-published

Dalston Anatomy
Photographer: Lorenzo Vitturi
Publisher: Jibijana Books in association with SPBH Editions, London and Milan

La Montagne Dorée
Photographer: Myriam Ziehli
Publisher: Self-published


You may also like

How Can Native Artists Challenge the Story of North America Today?

Announcing Aperture magazine's fall 2020 issue and programing around Native artists.