Aperture Magazine

The magazine of photography and ideas

The 2018 PhotoBook Awards Shortlist

Aperture and Paris Photo announce the shortlist for the 2018 PhotoBook Awards.

 - September 21, 2018

Aperture and Paris Photo are pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2018 PhotoBook Awards.

The shortlist selection was made by Lucy Gallun, associate curator in the Department of Photography at the Museum of Modern Art; Kristen Lubben, executive director of the Magnum Foundation; Yasufumi Nakamori, PhD, incoming senior curator of international art (photography) at Tate Modern, London; Lesley A. Martin, creative director of Aperture Foundation and publisher of The PhotoBook Review; and Christoph Wiesner, artistic director of Paris Photo.

Established in 2012, the Paris Photo-Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Awards celebrate the photobook’s contribution to the evolving narrative of photography, with three major categories: First PhotoBook, Photography Catalogue of the Year, and PhotoBook of the Year.

First PhotoBook

Edén Bernal
Exilios (Exiles)
Publisher: Inframundo, Mexico City

Nacho Caravia
Publisher: Self-published, Barcelona, Spain

M L Casteel
American Interiors
Publisher: Dewi Lewis Publishing, Stockport, England

John Edmonds
Publisher: Capricious Publishing, New York

Matthew Genitempo
Publisher: Twin Palms Publishers, Santa Fe

Julie Glassberg
Due to unforeseen circumstances, this book has no title (Bike Kill)
Publisher: ceiba editions, Siena, Italy

Soham Gupta
Publisher: AKINA Books, London

Yann Haeberlin
Publisher: Self-published, Geneva, Switzerland

Esther Hovers
False Positives
Publisher: Fw:Books, Amsterdam

Maria Kapajeva
You can call him another man
Publisher: Kaunas Photography Gallery, Kaunas, Lithuania

Mariken Kramer
The Eyes That Fix You in a Formulated Phrase
Publisher: Multipress, Oslo, Norway

Pixy Liao
Experimental Relationship Vol. 1
Publisher: Jiazazhi Press, Ningbo, China

Margo Ovcharenko
Country of Women
Publisher: Empty Stretch, Moscow

Nicolas Polli
Ferox, The Forgotten Archives (1976–2010)
Publisher: Ciao Press, Lausanne, Switzerland, and Skinnerboox, Jesi, Italy

Laurence Rasti
There Are No Homosexuals in Iran
Publisher: Edition Patrick Frey, Zürich, Switzerland

Nick Sethi
Khichdi (Kitchari)
Publisher: Dashwood Books, New York

Clara de Tezanos
Piedra-Padre, Universo
Publisher: Self-published, Guatemala City

Jo Ann Walters
Wood River Blue Pool and Blue Pool Cecilia
Publisher: Image Text Ithaca, New York

Stanley Wolukau-Wanambwa
One Wall a Web
Publisher: Roma Publications, Amsterdam

Masaki Yamamoto
Publisher: Zen Foto Gallery, Tokyo

Photography Catalogue of the Year

Blind Date Exhibition
Lieko Shiga
Publisher: T&M Projects, Tokyo

Body Against Body: The Battle of Images, from Photography to Live Streaming
Thyago Nogueira, ed., Bárbara Wagner, Garapa Collective, Jonathas de Andrade, Letícia Ramos, Mídia Ninja, and Sofia Borges
Publisher: Instituto Moreira Salles, São Paulo, Brazil

The Land in Between
Ursula Schulz-Dornburg
Publisher: MACK, London

Sally Mann: A Thousand Crossings
Sarah Greenough and Sarah Kennel
Publisher: National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC, in association with Abrams, New York

A View of a Room
Susan Meiselas
Publisher: Here Press, London

PhotoBook of the Year

Laia Abril
On Abortion
Publisher: Dewi Lewis Publishing, Stockport, England

Nina Berman and Kimberly Stevens
An autobiography of Miss Wish
Publisher: Kehrer Verlag, Heidelberg, Germany

Dawoud Bey
Seeing Deeply
Publisher: University of Texas Press, Austin

Sophie Calle
Parce que
Publisher: Éditions Xavier Barral, Paris

Alexandra Catiere
Behind the Glass
Publisher: Chose Commune, Paris

Masahisa Fukase, Simon Baker, and Tomo Kosuga
Masahisa Fukase
Publisher: Éditions Xavier Barral, Paris

Sohrab Hura
Look It’s Getting Sunny Outside!!!
Publisher: Ugly Dog (Self-published), Delhi, India

Raymond Meeks
Halfstory Halflife
Publisher: Chose Commune, Paris

Carmen Winant
My Birth
Publisher: Self Publish, Be Happy Editions, London

Daisuke Yokota
Publisher: Akio Nagasawa Publishing, Tokyo

Jurors’ Special Mention

The Sweet Flypaper of Life
Roy DeCarava and Langston Hughes
Originally published 1955; reissued in paperback
Publisher: First Print Press, New York