The 2017 PhotoBook Awards Shortlist

Aperture and Paris Photo announce the shortlist for the 2017 PhotoBook Awards.

Aperture and Paris Photo are pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2017 PhotoBook Awards.

The shortlist selection was made by Gregory Halpern, whose ZZYZX won the Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation PhotoBook of the Year Award in 2016; Lesley A. Martin, Creative Director, Aperture Foundation and Publisher, The PhotoBook Review; Kathy Ryan, longtime director of photography at the New York Times Magazine; Joel Smith, Richard L. Menschel Curator of Photography at the Morgan Library & Museum in New York; and Christoph Wiesner, artistic director of Paris Photo.

Established in 2012, the Paris Photo-Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Awards celebrate the photobook’s contribution to the evolving narrative of photography, with three major categories: First PhotoBook, Photography Catalogue of the Year, and PhotoBook of the Year.

First PhotoBook

Mathieu Asselin
Monsanto: A Photographic Investigation 
Publisher: Verlag Kettler, Dortmund, Germany, 2017
Designed by Ricardo Báez

Zackary Canepari
Publisher: Contrasto Books, Italy, 2016
Designed by Teun van der Heijden

Teju Cole
Blind Spot
Publisher: Penguin Random House, New York, 2017
Designed by Alex Merto

Sam Contis
Deep Springs
Publisher: MACK, London, 2017
Designed by Sam Contis and Lewis Chaplin

Debi Cornwall
Welcome to Camp America, Inside Guantánamo Bay
Publisher: Radius Books, Santa Fe, NM, 2017
Designed by David Chickey

Albert Elm
What Sort of Life Is This
Publisher: The Ice Plant, Los Angeles, 2017
Designed by Albert Elm

Mary Frey
Reading Raymond Carver
Publisher: Peperoni Books, Berlin, 2017
Designed by Hannes Wanderer

Jenia Fridlyand 
Entrance to Our Valley
Self-published, New York, 2017
Designed by Jenia Fridlyand

Darren Harvey-Regan
The Erratics
Publisher: RVB Books, Paris, 2017
Designed by Zoé Aubry & Vincent Sauvaire

Karoline Hjorth and Riitta Ikonen
Eyes as Big as Plates
Publisher: Forlaget Press, Oslo, 2017
Designed by Greger Ulf Nilson

Dawn Kim
Publisher: Self-published, Brooklyn, 2016
Designed by Dawn Kim

Laura Larson
Hidden Mother
Publisher: Saint Lucy Books, Baltimore, 2017
Designed by Guenet Abraham

Feng Li
White Night
Publisher: Jiazazhi Press, Ningbo, China, 2017
Designed by Cheng Yinhe

Cecil McDonald Jr. 
In the Company of Black
Publisher: Candor Arts, Chicago, 2017
Designed by Matt Austin

Virginie Rebetez
Out of the Blue
Publisher: Meta/Books, Amsterdam, 2016
Designed by Chi-long Trieu

Claudius Schulze
State of Nature 
Publisher: Hartmann Books, Stuttgart, Germany, 2017
Designed by -SYB-

Nadya Sheremetova, ed. 
With Alexey Bogolepov, Margo Ovcharenko, Irina Ivannikova, Anastasia Tsayder, Igor Samolet, Yury Gudkov, Olya Ivanova, Irina Zadorozhnaia, Anastasia Tailakova, and Irina Yulieva. 
Amplitude No.1
Publisher: FotoDepartment, Saint Petersburg, Russia, 2017
Designed by Anton Lepashov

Senta Simond
Rayon Vert
Self-published, Lausanne, Switzerland, 2017
Designed by Florence Meunier

Alnis Stakle
Melancholic Road
Self-published, Riga, Latvia, 2017
Designed by Alnis Stakle

Mayumi Suzuki
The Restoration Will
Self-published, Tokyo, Japan, 2017
Designed by Yumi Goto and Jan Rosseel

Photography Catalogue of the Year

Brassaï: Graffiti, Le Langage du Mur
Karolina Ziebinska-Lewandowska
Éditions Xavier Barral
Paris, 2016
Designed by Xavier Barral and Coline Aguettaz

CLAP! 10×10 Contemporary Latin American Photobooks: 2000–2016
Olga Yatskevich, Russet Lederman, and Matthew Carson
10×10 Photobooks, New York, 2017
Designed by Ricardo Báez

Diary of a Leap Year
Rabih Mroué
Kunsthalle Mainz and Kaph Books, Beirut, Lebanon, 2017
Designed by Studio Safar

Hans Eijkelboom: Photo Concepts 1970
Gabriele Conrath-Scholl, Wim van Sinderen, Gerrit Willems and Dieter Roelstraete
Snoeck Verlagsgesellschaft mbH, Cologne, 2016
Designed by Jaap van Triest, Amsterdam

New Realities: Photography in the 19th Century
Mattie Boom, Hans Rooseboom
Rijiksmuseum/Nai, Amsterdam, 2017
Designed by Irma Boom Office (Irma Boom/Tariq Heijboer)

PhotoBook of the Year

Anne Golaz
Publisher: MACK, London, 2017
Designed by Anne Golaz and Lewis Chaplin

Jim Goldberg
The Last Son
Publisher: SUPER LABO
Kamakura, Japan, 2016
Designed by Jim Goldberg

Nicholas Muellner
In Most Tides an Island
Publisher: SPBH Editions, London, 2017
Designed by Andrew Sloat

Mark Neville
Fancy Pictures
Publisher: Steidl, Göttingen, Germany, 2016
Designed by Duncan Whyte

Alison Rossiter
Expired Paper
Publisher: Radius Books and Yossi Milo Gallery, Sante Fe, NM, 2017
Designed by David Chickey

Paul Schiek, ed.
Mike Mandel, Susan Meiselas, Bill Burke, and Lee Friedlander
Subscription Series No. 5
Publisher: TBW Books, Oakland, CA, 2017
Designed by Paul Schiek and Lester Rosso

Dayanita Singh
Museum Bhavan
Publisher: Steidl, Göttingen, Germany, 2017
Designed by Dayanita Singh and Gerhard Steidl

Carlos Spottorno and Guillermo Abril
La Grieta (The Crack)
Publisher: Astiberri Ediciones, Bilbao, Spain, 2016

Erik van der Weijde
This Is Not My Book
Publisher: Spector Books, Leipzig, Germany, 2017
Designed by Fabian Bremer and Pascal Storz

Henk Wildschut
Ville de Calais
Self-published, Amsterdam, 2017
Designed by Robin Uleman